Hello and welcome.

Since its inception in 1985, the Symposium on Computational Geometry has been affiliated with the Association for Computing Machinery, through its special interest groups SIGACT and SIGGRAPH.  Over the past three years, the SOCG community has been considering leaving ACM and organizing the conference independently.  The community has already voted on this issue twice, both times with a majority of votes favoring at least partial independence. However, in light of legitimate criticism of the previous vote and new developments within ACM, the steering committee has agreed to hold a third and final vote.

As the chair of the SOCG steering committee, I set up this blog as a forum for community discussion leading up to that vote, which will take place in June 2014. In the months leading up to the vote, I will post brief summaries of some of the relevant issues. However, I hope that most of the content will come from the research community and other stakeholders; in particular, I will invite posts and comments from

  • the computational geometry research community at large,
  • past local organizers of SOCG,
  • representatives of ACM, SIGACT, and SIGGRAPH (hopefully expressing their official positions),
  • and representatives of other conferences, both with and without ACM affiliation.

If you are interested in contributing a post, please send me email.

I will do my best to present the issues fairly, but I am biased.  Any opinions I express here are entirely my own, and not official positions of the SOCG steering committee, ACM, SIGACT, SIGGRAPH, the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, the National Science Foundation, or anyone else.  Please call me on my bullshit.

Finally, please be respectful.  People hold strong and divergent opinions on this issue, but personal attacks against anyone but me will not be tolerated.

About Jeff Erickson

I'm a professor of computer science at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign and the chair of the steering committee for the International Symposium on Computational Geometry.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello and welcome.

  1. One comment that came up frequently in chats: there’s a lot of confusion about exactly what ACM does for the conference, and what the financial impact of this support is. Do you expect that the ACM functionaries you invite will address this, or would you be inclined to address it yourself in an initial “FAQ” ?

    • Jeff Erickson says:

      Certainly “What does ACM do for its conferences?” is one of the first questions I will ask ACM representatives to answer.

      I’d be happy to address this myself, but since I’ve never organized a conference myself — with or without ACM — my answer will necessarily be second-hand, especially in addressing financial impact.

Comments are closed.